Today was a great way to end a good week.  The base where Dale is doing his training, 22 Wing North Bay had a 5 or 10 km “fun run” fitness challenge this morning and family members were welcome to participate.  So Nate and I decided it was a good idea 🙂

The cool part about the run was the it went down into what is known as “the hole”.  North Bay is one of the main operations centres for the northern NORAD (North American Aerospace Defence) region and the facilities which they used to operate out of were housed in an underground complex.  Due to increase in maintenance costs and changes to threats, they now operate out of a new building above ground on the base and I’m not sure what, if anything, the hole is being used for these days.   But today they opened up the first 300m of the tunnel that leads down into the hole for part of the fun run. 

And let me tell you…it was creepy.  We weren’t allowed to take the stroller down into it, so Dale waited up at the top for me.  I contend that he just didn’t want to do the hill (it was fairly steep).  What freaked me out even more was the fact that the Wing Commander advised us before hand that if the lights happened to go out while we were in the tunnel just to stand still and wait and not try to get out.  You can check out this article to get a better idea of what the hole was used for and why they’ve moved above ground, if you’re interested!

If those lights had gone out…I would have been pooping my pants!  Talk about potentially freaky!!  The walls are solid rock and there was water dripping everywhere.  But at least it was much cooler in the tunnel than it was above ground..not a hard feat considering it was about 23 degrees with about 90% humidity!

Anyway, I realize this probably isn’t the most exciting blog post of mine, and not what you’re usually used to or interested in reading, but I was just so stoked after the run that I had to share.  It was great to run with Dale (and a bonus that he pushed the stroller).  It was fun to have that race like setting (including the pre-race butterflies!!) even though it was all for fun.  And although the rolling course was challenging I finished in 36 minutes with only about 100m of walking after I finished the hill coming out of the tunnel.

It totally made me remember why I love to run.  Once you get past the pain it’s exhilarating. 

