Well, May is quickly coming to a close and I am nowhere close to having answered all the fabulous questions you posed back at the beginning of the month!  The month has turned out to be rather busy, especially since the nice weather has finally arrived.  Only 2 more sleeps until Nate and I pack our bags and head East for a month of family time with Daddy and the grandparents in Ontario.  I am soooooo looking forward to seeing Dale on Friday that I am positively giddy at times in anticipation.  At other times, however, I am totally down in the dumps feeling like Friday will never arrive.  I am extremely ready to pass Nate over into Daddy’s waiting arms and take some much needed sanity time for me.   Saturday morning I have a very long appointment with a bed!

But in the meantime I decided today I would answer Reesh’s question on schooling “Do you think you’ll home school, public school or use some sort of alternate schooling (Waldorf/Montessori) for Nate? Are you planning on going back to work before he’s ready for school?”.  For anyone who doesn’t know, Reesh is practically my raison d’etre in the blogosphere.  I found her blog way back in February of 2007 when I was newly pregnant with Nate and she was newly pregnant with Nadia.  It turns out she lives only about 20 minutes from me and now we are not only online pals…but also real-life friends. Very cool.  You can check her out here, although she’s been a bit busy of late getting a new business up and running (which you should totally post about Reesh!!).

So, first I’ll answer the easy part of Reesh’s question.  Yes, for better or worse, I am going back to work in July.  Luckily as a member of the Canadian Forces Air Reserve I am able to go back to work part time (3 days per week) to start with.  Things might get somewhat complicated in the fall when we move to Cold Lake, but that’s a long story for another post.  Bottom line, I am planning on working part time for the foreseeable future; although if I have the opportunity to take a full time contract I would likely accept.  The money is great and the hours are reasonable and I am blessed to have a husband who works shift work and can often be home during the day with Nate.  I am not totally sure how I feel about going back to work again so soon, but I guess I’ll figure it out as I go.  I know that I can always change my mind down the road and go back to being home with Nate.

As for the homeschooling vs. regular schooling, when you first posed this questions I would have said 100% for sure, without-a doubt-in-my-mind regular schooling.  I had absolutely zero interest in homeschooling.  Why would I want to be Nate’s teacher??  I’m already his Mom and that is a hard enough job.  But then Christy posted this.

And I felt like she was writing about me when she was talking about her experiences in school.  I am wonderful at memorizing, but then I forget.  I have no lasting passion for anything that I have learned.  And perhaps that’s just my nature, but maybe – just maybe – it’s the way I was schooled.

So all of a sudden I’m considering how I want Nate to be schooled.  Maybe homeschooling isn’t so crazy after all.  Maybe it could be for us. Maybe.  Of course it’s still a long ways off and we’ll likely have moved at least twice by then.  So I’m not committing to anything here, except to thinking about my options.  And I’m definitely planning to do some reading on homeschooling before we make any kind of decision on the matter.

I can’t really see us sending Nate (or his future siblings) to an alternative school because it could get really messy with us moving around a lot.  Some small places like Cold Lake probably don’t have a lot of options in that department.  But I guess I wouldn’t totally rule it out either.

What I do like about the thought of homeschooling is the flexibility.  I am fairly certain that I could be disciplined enough to stick to a schedule most of the time, but I love the idea that you can take your learning on the road.  When my sister and I were growing up my parents never hesitated to take us out of school for short periods of time in order to travel.  They trusted that we would learn just as much during a week away in a new place as we would in a week of school.  And I am so happy that they had that opinion because otherwise we would have missed out on a lot of fun and adventure.

I also love the idea that I could potentially help Nate pursue things that he’s passionate about.  Not that you can’t do that in regular school, but it sounds like it would be a lot easier if we were homeschooling.  It would definitely be fun to explore different topics with him, especially if he was really into them.

Ultimately I think the idea of homeschooling may be a bit of wishful thinking.  But who knows.  He won’t be in school for another 4 1/2 years and although I know that in some sense those years will fly by, a lot can change in that amount of time and we’ll just have to figure out what works for us when the time comes.

I would really love to hear what y’all think about this topic!  Anyone else swayed by Christy’s post (which you really must read!) or have different thoughts and opinions?  I’m all ears!

