Dear Nate,

Your 8 month letter is a few days late – not because I was too busy doing other things, but because I was too busy having fun with you to want to steal away to the computer to write a letter. Over the last month there have been major changes around here – you are doing new and wonderful things every day!

You now have 2 teeth. Yep. Count ’em. One. Two. They arrived relatively quickly and with not too much fuss and you don’t like to show them off to people very often, but I get lots of glimpses of those pearly whites when you give me your for-Mommy’s-eyes-only wide mouthed smiles πŸ™‚ I’m sure a few more won’t be too far behind as you’ve started drooling up a festival again after a few weeks of respite from sopping shirts and a rashy chin.

You’d never know it to look at your petite little body but you eat like a champion. Three meals a day of solids, usually two big bowls of food per sitting and a few mum-mums in between for good measure. And then there is still the booby on top of that. You still like to nurse and aren’t easily distracted when you’re hungry (which is nice when I’m nursing you on the go), but I am noticing that it doesn’t seem to satisfy you for very long any more and there are often times where you would prefer a mum-mum as a snack rather than nursing. It makes me a little sad…but I also adore this growing independence and the fact that I can more easily take some “me” time to recharge.

Your Daddy is still away. And he still misses you. I talk to him every day and every day he wants to know what you’ve done, what you ate, how you slept and on and on and on. He wears his heart on his sleeve – that’s for sure! He’s really, really excited that we’re going to visit him next month. He can’t wait to snuggle you and play with you and feed you and yes, even change your diaper and get up with you in the middle of the night!

Lucky for us we have lots of other people around to keep us busy and look after us. Your Auntie Gill still can’t go more than a day or two without seeing you or she has Nate-withdrawal. And now that we are running with the Yummy Mummies and their happy little babes, we see friends almost every day. You are finally starting to really acknowledge all the other babies. Mostly you try to steal their mum-mums or their soothers, but at least it’s a step in the right direction towards socialization πŸ™‚

Now I have saved the most exciting news about your 8th month for last. You can CRAWL!! Yep, as of Tuesday May13th, you are a crawling little man. On the move. And boy was I ever right. Life around here just got a heck of a lot more interesting in the past week! I can’t leave you anywhere anymore or you are into something you shouldn’t be – dumping the dog’s water dish, toppling the pile of garage sale items, eating my running shoes (yuck!), yanking Turner’s hair, dumping the diaper pail. Oh it’s lots of fun alright!

And not only are you crawling now, but you are also pulling yourself up on the couch or the coffee table. This is somewhat of a dangerous activity at the moment though, because once you are up you have no clue how to get yourself back down safely and eventually you topple over and land screaming on your back. I’m just waiting for the inevitable bumps and bruises that seem to accompany this stage of babyhood!

We’ve been spending more and more time outside as the weather warms up. You love exploring on the grass and even enjoyed your first dip in the Pacific Ocean last Friday (only up to your knees though…it was still a wee bit chilly!) And for all this fresh air you’ve been getting, one might think that you’d be so exhausted at night that you’d sleep from dusk till dawn with no interruptions. Not so, I’m sad to say. After sleeping through the night for well over a month you are back to multiple night wakings. We’re slowly working through it and although I am exhausted some days, I know now that you can and will eventually sleep through the night again and that somehow makes it a little bit easier. Although I do wish you could just tell me what is wrong so that I could just fix and make us both feel better!

So, my sweet little crawling man. You can see that you are keeping your Mommy really, really busy these days. And although it is tiring, I love it! I love watching you discover new skills and seeing your eyes light up at familiar faces everywhere we go. I think we are both just having a lot of fun. And best of all, at the end of every busy day I get to sit the the rocker and snuggle you close, whisper sweet nothings in your ear and kiss your warm cheeks, knowing that you are mine and I am yours. There is no better feeling in the whole wide world!

Love Mommy

