So it’s Cold Lake.

And I’m not happy.  Not at all.  Nor is my husband.  Nor is my sister.

For those of you who are completely and utterly lost, what I mean is Dale got news today (although not yet an official posting message) that we are posted to Cold Lake, Alberta.  Middle of freakin’ nowhere, fighter base in the frozen Canadian North.

Not what we were expecting and definitely not what we were hoping for.  Not in the least.  Hence the bitter disappointment.

No it’s not the end of the world, and 5 years ago when we were expecting a posting to Cold Lake we were actually quite content about it, but that was 2003 and this is 2008.  What’s the difference you might ask?  Well…a house costs about $200,000 more in Cold Lake these days, for one.  And Cold Lake is decidedly not close to my sister (aka my best friend in the whole wide world besides my husband) nor is it close to our parents.  Plus, as the name indicates, Cold Lake is cold.  Really really cold.  And of course there is snow.  Lots of it.  And when the summer finally arrives in July, there are bugs.  Lots of them.

I know that I’ll eventually get past this little temper tantrum I’m having.  And when I do, I’m sure I’ll realize that it won’t be that bad.  That at least I’ll be with Dale – which matters more than anything else.  That we’ll make new friends, and have new adventures.  That I’m still only a plane ride away from my sister and my parents.  That we’ll manage to afford a house somehow.  But for now I’m just going to pout a little and probably cry a little too.  Because I had my heart set on Seattle…and thought North Bay as a back-up would have been ok,too.

I’m just wasn’t expecting this curve ball today. Maybe I’ll deal with it tomorrow…maybe.

