Today it’s time to indulge my heart and soul and share with you one of my favourite poems of all time. Somehwere in between loads of laundry, baskets of clean diapers, taking Nate to childminding, physio thereapy for my aching non-athletic body and a stack of dishes waiting to be washed there has to be some time for me. Pure and simple. Hopefully you too can take a moment, sit down with a hot cuppa joe or steaming herbal tea – whatever you fancy – and delight in the written word.

I used to adore reading poetry and I was known to write some now and again. But that was a long time ago…before I became an adult and the trappings of adult life took over. I don’t read nearly as often as I should or as often as I would like, and when I do, a book of poetry is no longer what I gravitate towards. Except for today. In honour of National Poetry Month, I am going to participate in Megan’s bloggy poetry reading and share with you the some of the best of Robert Frost:

The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

I can’t imagine anyone not having read this poem before. Perhaps it’s a little bit clichĂ© that such a famous poem is my favourite, but the words jsut speak so clearly to me. Every time I read it I get this fabulous picture in my head of a fork in the road and two paths leading onward in different directions. The leaves, the grass, the sun shinging through the tree tops – it is such a vivid image in my mind.

I love the line “and knowing how way leads on to way” – doesn’t that just sum up life to a tee? I can’t count the number of times I’ve thought, “It’s ok…I’ll do *this* now and come back to *that* later”. But “later” there is always another *this* and rarely do I get back to *that*. Sometimes it makes me sad, but life goes on and the reality is we simply can’t do everything. Choices are a must.

I also like to think that I often take the path less traveled, but I’m pretty sure I’m more of a lemming than I prefer to admit to myself. Of course there have been times in my life when I have chosen a different course than the majority of others might have, but I rarely stop long enough to think what difference those choices have made in my life. Because, like I said, there is always another load of laundry, another basket of diapers, Nate to pick up from childminding, and a stack of dishes waiting for me in the kitchen.

I’d love to hear about your favourite poems – or perhaps one of you is braver than I and willing to share some original work. If you do post on poetry, be sure to add your name to the Mr. Linky over at Sorta Crunchy! At the very least, pull out a copy of your favourite poem today and spend at least a few minutes reflecting. For your heart and soul.

