The Random Christmas Hoopla!
Here goes:

1. List 12 random things about yourself that have to do with Christmas

2. Please refer to it as a ‘hoopla’ and not the dreaded ‘m’-word (which, for you bloggy newbies, is meme)

3. You have to specifically tag people when you’re done. None of this “if you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged” stuff is allowed…then nobody ends up actually doing it. The number of people who you tag is really up to you — but the more, the merrier to get this ‘hoopla’ circulating through the blogosphere.

4. Please try and do it as quickly as possible. The Christmas season will be over before we know it and I’d like to get as many people involved as possible.

12 Random Christmas Things About Me

1.  Every Christmas Eve in our family, we read “The Night Before Christmas”.  We change a few parts though.  It was my Dad’s idea.  I can’t wait to read the story to Nate this year.

…He spoke not a word, but went straight to his work,

And filled all the stockings; then turned like a jerk,

And laying his finger inside of his nose,

And giving a nod, up the chimney he rose…

2.  Unlike Megan, I love Eggnog.  And nutmeg.

3.  My favourite Christmas CD is Raffi’s Christmas album.  It’s not just for kids you know.

4. My favourite Christmas carol is Away in a Manger.  My Mom’s favourite Christmas song is Raffi’s On Douglas Mountain.

5. The rule in our house is that you open stockings before breakfast and then presents under the tree after breakfast.

6.  To this day people don’t believe that my sister can keep a secret because when she was about 3 years old she told me on Christmas Eve what she got me for Christmas.  It was a Ken doll and a baby boy from Barbie.

7.  One Christmas when I was about 6, my parents and there friend Pete stayed up really, really late on Christmas Eve.  I’m pretty sure there was some Scotch involved.  And I think they were hoping to sleep in a bit Christmas morning.  I had other plans.  At 5 am, I sneaked downstairs into the basement where Pete was sleeping and woke him up to ask if Santa had been there yet.  He asked if I had looked in the living room where the tree was (under which was a brand new red bike for me!) but being the goody-two-shoes that I was, I hadn’t.  So instead of sleeping in, Pete got to watch the Muppet Movie about 3 times before he let me wake my parents up.

8. Another Christmas story involving Pete:  One Christmas when I was about 7, I had the chicken pox.  So to make me feel better on Christmas morning Pete convinced my whole family to put red sticky dots all over their faces so I wouldn’t feel so alone in my red-dotted state.  They even put dots of the life-size stuffed flamingos Pete got my sister and I.  I thought they were making fun of me.  I was less than impressed.  At my wedding Pete told the story – wearing the read dots and all.  He even had dots for all the guests.  The second time around I laughed.

9.  My Mom tends to go a bit overboard sometimes.  Especially at Christmas.  For my first Christmas with Dale in Comox (i.e., 3000 kms away from home) she sent us a life sized, specially hand-made stuffed Santa adorned with all of our favourite ornaments from when we were kids.  It’s huge (and a little scary).  And my sister will never let me live down the fact that I got the mini songbook ornament.  Never.

10.  My absolute favourite Christmas movie is “It’s a Wonderful Life”.  I watch it every year while I’m wrapping presents.

11.  I always know what to get my sister for Christmas, sometimes know what to get my Mom for Christmas and never know what to get my Dad for Christmas.

12.  I spent Christmas in Germany when I was 17.  My favourite German Christmas traditions were real candles on the tree, Gluewein (warm, spicy mulled red wine) at the Christmas Market and handmade advent calendars. 

So…I tag Gill, Jackie, Reesh and Tanya.  If anyone else does it…post a link in the comments so I can check it out.  I’m totally up for some Christmas smiles these days!

 

 

