I can’t do it quite like Oprah does in that I can’t give each of you my favourite things, but nonetheless I thought that today I would share a few of my favourite scrapbooking products. I got the idea from reading this month’s issue of Creating Keepsakes magazine where a whole bunch of top scrapbookers listed their favourite scrapbooking staples and must-have products. Since I could probably go on forever, I’ll limit it to just 10. I’m sure there are some dissenting opinions out there, so be sure to speak up and tell me what your favourite products are. I’m always up for trying something new!

1. 3M Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner tape runner. It is the only tape runner that I will use. It’s quick, always sticks and is versatile enough to use on all but the smallest die cuts or embellishments.

2. My Cricut machine by Provocraft. I know I’ve touted its virtues before – but seriously – it revolutionized my scrapbooking. It is easy to use and the cartridges (if you don’t know, they are kinda like the games for a Nintendo Game Boy, you plug them in and each one has a font collection or a collection of shapes) are also very versatile.

3.    Bazzill Textured Cardstock.  In fact, when it comes to cardstock, there is simply no other choice!  I adore the weight of it and the rich, rich colours.  The fact that it is textured just adds a little something special to every page.

4.    My Creative Memories Personal Trimmer for photos.  I used to be a dedicated exacto kinfe and ruler kind of girl, but now I have to say that the personal trimmer is way faster and less prone to mishaps.  Although the blade is extremely sharp and being the clutz that I am, I have knicked myself more than once!  The only downside is that you can’t trim anything larger than a 4″x6″ photo, so for my larger prints I still use my trusty ruler and exacto.

5.    Staples.   It doesn’t get any easier than staples when it comes to adhering things on layouts.  You can pick up coloured staples in most scrapbook stores and sometimes on the cheap at dollar stores.  They are an especially quick method of adding ribbon to a layout.

6.   My Dymo Junior Embosser (aka label maker).   A great way to add short strings of text to your layout and it only cost me $8 at STAPLES Business Depot.

7.    Chipboard letters and shapes.  You can dress them up any way you want.  Ink them, stamp them, paint them, distress them, cover them in patterned paper.  Anything.  They are a fantastic way to add dimension to your layouts.  And if the cost scares you off, I know that Vanessa over at Lotus Paperie her originals as templates to trace onto cereal boxes and then cuts them out.  That way she never has to use the original.  I’m not usually that patient or thrifty, but it’s a great idea.

8.    Pop-up foam pieces for adhering elements that literally “pop” off the page.  A great layout has to have depth to it, and these are an easy way to achieve a more 3D look.  I usually buy mine from Stampin’ Up, but they are pretty much universally available.

9.     Photos printed with a border.  It’s a great way to save time and paper if you often like a “matted” look to your photos.  If you don’t need the white border for a particular layout then you can always trim it off.

10.   My Silent Setter by Provocraft.  I really like using brads and eyelets but I hated all the hammering involved in setting them with a traditional setter.  Even the “Click It” by Karen Foster was noisy and the newest craze, the Crop-A-Dile, will only set them about an inch in from the edge of the paper.  The Silent Setter works on your own strength but it makes no noise at all.  Perfect for late night scrapping or when you’re trying not to wake the baby!

So, those are just a few of my favourite products.  Hopefully for some of you who are just getting started this will give you an idea of what’s available.  Of course every scrapbooker has their personal favs, but I think these products are a pretty great place to start!

I also need to send huge kudos out to my sister, Gill, this week.   Jamie Van, the owner of a monthly kit club called Coordinates Collections, featured one of Gill’s layouts as a “fab find” on her blog.  You can find it here.  Gill’s is the third layout down.  I’m so proud of her!  I’ve always thought her layouts were fab, but I’m very glad others do too!

