I admit it. I am researcher. Usually I revel in researching a topic and coming up with an answer for whatever question I’m posing. But I am almost at my wits end about where to go next in our cloth diapering adventure. During pregnancy Dale and and I had great ambitions of going Diaper Free (I’ll save that topic for another post though!). Suffice to say that we have been a little overwhelmed by the parental learning curve and have put off those ambitions for at least the foreseeable future. And yes, I’ll accept a few “I told you so’s”.

However, we are sticking with cloth. For the moment we are using prefolds and the Bummi’s Super Whisper Wrap as a cover. It’s going quite well. Especially for this stage, when we are constantly changing diapers, this was the most economical (under $3 a diaper) choice. It was also a recommended method for going diaper free.

But what next? There are soooo many options out there. All-in-ones, fitted with covers, prefolds – and each with a million different options – or so it seems. I have friends using Kushies and friends using Bum Genius. Personally, besides the prefolds, we have a few Bamboozles and a Kissaluvs. So far I prefer the Kissaluvs, but since we’ve mostly been using prefolds I’m not convinced one way or the other.

I’m somewhat assuming that as Nate becomes more mobile, that the prefolds may not be the best choice anymore. And as he starts to sleep longer at night, I think I would like something that will keep the moisture away from his little bottom better than the prefolds. Other than that, I’m pretty open to suggestions. Mostly I’d like to hear pros and cons of different systems from the experts – Moms and Dads who use them! I’ve read everything there is to read on a tonne of different diaper sites, but the more I read, the less able I am to decide.

This is my plee for help! Your thoughts on my diaper dilemma?

