Scraptacular Fridays! Ok, so perhaps the name is a wee cheesy, but I am decidedly not as witty as some of my other blogging friends and thus had serious trouble coming up with a name for my very own personal theme day. That’s right – almost every blog seems to have them and I didn’t want to be left out. So, from now own (baby crises permitting) Fridays will be dedicated to my most favourite hobby ever – Scrapbooking. After all, I’m pretty sure when I started this blog I said I was going to talk about scrapbooking, I certainly haven’t done much of that!

I pick Fridays, cause me and my girls have a standing date on Thursday nights to scrapbook. It’s our one night to sit down, chit chat to hearts’ content and, if we’re lucky, finish a layout or two. Yes, it’s only two hours at our local rec centre, but we all love it and it’s a great opportunity to share ideas, tips and tricks and have a little “girl time”.

So what will Scraptacular Fridays consist of you ask? Well, I will try to share some of my layouts, as well as thoughts on new trends and products, and I will most definitely point you in the direction of some of my favourite scrapbooking sites. I’m not sure how many of my readers are scrapbookers…hopefully a few! If you’re out there and you scrapbook – be sure to let me know, and share your own scrapbooking favs, tips and tricks.

For today’s inaugural edition, I will start by giving a huge plug for my go-to inspiration site when it comes to scrapbooking – Page Maps, run by Becky Fleck. I LOVE this site, mostly because I’m a huge fan (and I mean HUGE) of sketches as jumping point for layouts. Like this one that I finished last night (my first layout of Nate BTW).

img_4095.jpg

I used a sketch from Becky’s October collection as my inspiration for this page. On the first of every month, Becky posts a new selection of sketches in both 12×12 and 8.5 x 11 sizes. She also has a good selection of sketches for various sized projects (cards, tags, mini albums, etc). Along with the sketches are sample layouts for even more added inspiration. Not only that, but she also has a monthly newsletter and, perhaps the best feature of all, each month there is a .pdf file of the monthly sketches that you can print out. I print them every month and keep them stored in a page protectors in a 3-ring binder for easy reference when I’m scrapping. The great part about sketches? It helps you layout your page elements just like scraplifting (code in the scrapping community for “copying”, but different because one should ALWAYS give credit to the original artist) a page from a magazine or web site, but without the risk of getting hung up on a particular colour scheme or theme. So, if you haven’t already, bookmark Becky’s site and let yourself be inspired!

Oh – and by ALL MEANS – if you have a better name suggestion for my theme day, suggest away!

