I guess that you could say that we had our first “false alarm” this afternoon.  After getting my hair cut this morning (note that I had instructed Baby Campbell that s/he HAD to wait until after my hair appointment to come out, ’cause anyone with short curly hair can attest to the fact that 6 weeks is TOO long to go without a hair cut), I was hanging at my friend Barb’s place this afternoon and started getting LOTS of downward pressure on my cervix and stronger contractions.  By the time I left and went to deliver some Timmies to my sis and her boss I decided that maybe I should kinda time these contractions since they didn’t seem to be going away.  Anyway – for about 2 1/2 to 3 hours I was having contractions that were consistently between 5 and 9 minutes apart.  But alas – they have since subsided and I’m back to totally irregular, less intense, very decidedly “practice” contractions.

We were getting a little excited to think this might actually be it.  I’ve had a few other “pre” labour signs over this week (I’ll spare you the gory details) and on some level I feel that we are getting close, but then I remember “What do I know? I’ve never done this before!” and realize that we could still be days or maybe even – gulp – weeks away!

So one more day with no baby, one more night to try and sleep through comfortably and at least one more tomorrow to fill up with relatively inane activity in hopes of staving off the boredom of “waiting”.

Sigh!

