Perhaps this is an exercise in futility – setting up a blog four weeks before I’m due to have my first baby – but I’m hoping that I’m up for the challenge and thinking this may be the best way to capture the myriad of thoughts and emotions that are bound to overwhelm me in the next few months! Besides…everyone else is doing it so I thought I’d jump on the bandwagon! After all…anyone who knows me will testify to the fact that I don’t like to be left out of the loop!

So what can you expect from this blog? Well…I can’t promise great writing, although I used to pride myself on my creative writing skills. Assuming I ever have a free hand over the next few months and that I am not totally technically challenged, I can definitely promise some half decent photography. Hopefully I’ll also be able to provide some updates and insights on Dale and my ongoing adventures in natural living – including hypnobirthing, EC’ing, Green Smoothies and general west-coast “crunchiness” (terminology borrowed from Megan) that we are acquiring.

In case you’re wondering about my chosen title, I’ve been a huge fan of that particular Mark Twain quote since I first heard it before my student exchange in ’96. A fellow exchange student passed it on and I used it as my mantra while away. I sometimes feel like I’ve drifted away from the philosophy behind it over the last few years and am hoping that in parenthood and child rearing I can remind myself of the need to step outside my comfort zone, be spontaneous and enjoy the moment. Perhaps it will encourage you to do the same!

Anyway, thanks for looking and thanks too for bearing with me while I get things organized and looking the way I’d like them!

